NEW – All Happening Now

Guestbook NEW – All Happening Now

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #1139010

      Just got an email saying this is now available –

      All Happening Now (disc one)
      by Adam Franklin & Bolts of Melody

      1.How Does It Feel To Look Like Candy 03:44
      2.Cold War Kids 03:40
      3.Kill the Superheroes (cyberpunk version) 07:06
      4.Deep Seat (moonshiner version) 03:55
      5.A Long Way Home 04:04
      6.Cars Converge On Paris 06:31
      7.It’s All Happening Now 04:30
      8.Castles Made of Sand (free) 03:42
      9.Scrawl & Scream (favela version) 04:05
      10.Never Lose That Feeling 04:14
      11.Last Day On Earth 04:24
      12.Year of the Girl (electronic version) 04:46

      All Happening Now 36 songs, requested by 31 people and recorded in 30 days by Adam Franklin in July 2013 as part of an exclusive recordings project.

      Mostly from his back catalogue – Swervedriver, Toshack Highway, Magnetic Morning and Bolts of Melody and solo tunes – there were also three random requests from the year 1967 as a “wildcard” option which he had to honour: luckily he loved the Hendrix tune and approved of the Buffalo Springfield and Frankie Valli requests – “I managed to dodge the Engelbert Humperdink bullet, although our guitar tech Duncan cannily made me record 1967’s ‘The Laughing Gnome’ for him in exchange for fixing a wah wah pedal. This track will sadly remain in the vaults.”

      So after requests to make the whole set available, it finally is. The 31 original benefactors receive the whole set for free (apart from Duncan) and the rest of you can either listen to it endlessly on your computers via Bandcamp or purchase it from there and iTunes – but really, you want to buy it of course. (The cover versions are free.) The 36 tracks break down into three sets of 12 songs so disc one is available here now and discs two and three will be available from August 11th and August 18th respectively.

      Muses Franklin: “The title ‘All Happening Now’ was suggested by Samuel Lapalme-Remis and it really was all happening last July – I didn’t have too long to spend on each number and so the recordings had to be pretty spontaneous. I have allowed myself the luxury of re-mixing and retouching the tracks here and there in the interim, meaning that a certain number of the original recordings people received remain absolutely exclusive. There has been no additional recording however, just some drum tracks re-programmed and things nudged around.”

      Thanks to Ben Poore, Iain Blatherwick, Michael Faust, Meredith Puljung, Samuel Lapalme-Remis, Nick Ilott, Karl MacRae, Anna Smolinska, Anthony Seeley, Stephen Cross, Marie Cronin, Trevor Ydreos, Andy Barksdale, Fahmi Hosain, Geoff Calhoun, Peter Horvath, Jason Newberry, Whitney Profitt, Jeff Birgbauer, Colin Cherot, Brad Knox, Christian Santos, David Weislogel, Brandon Dudley, Rob Hobson, Greg Witt, Jim McDermott, Julien Hottinger, Daniel Johnson, Tom Kennedy, Ken Scott and Brad Sears.
      released 04 August 2014

      Sleeve design by Adam Franklin

    Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
    • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.