Swervies – Toronto ’92 – story – help

Guestbook Swervies – Toronto ’92 – story – help

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    scoopjuicy
    Participant

I’m not an expert on the band, but I’ve seen Swervedriver at least five times, probably six. The first time I saw them was the most memorable, even though I forgot most of it, as you shall see. Can someone help me on the details?

The date was January 30, 1992, at Lee’s Palace. Raise tour. It might have been their first Toronto appearance. Support act was The Poster Children.

It was a really weird gig. Apparently their drummer went AWOL a day or two prior, so to fill their commitment, they had to fly in a substitute drummer who learned as much as he could on the plane. He basically didn’t know half of the set, so they took requests from the audience, conferred if they knew the songs in common, and winged it.

Backing up…

I live/work in Waterloo, about 90 minutes from Toronto. I didn’t get any sleep the night before. I did an all-nighter at a newspaper, then went to my regular job. No sleep, and didn’t eat all day. I thought I was going to eat supper, but my ride had other ideas. Even though they already had a lot of pot and hash, they insisted that they needed some honey oil too. So supper was abandoned while the hunt for oil commenced.

So we get to Toronto, smoking pot, hash, oil. No food. No sleep. We get into Lee’s. The Poster Children were awesome!! I was really getting into it, and drained a couple pitchers of beer. Then I started feeling really, really hot, stuffy and light-headed. Swervedriver came on, it was shambolic, but nevertheless fantastic, I was headbanging and generally stomping all over the place. But the light-headedness worsened. I needed fresh air. Badly. So I told my boys, back in a second dudes, I’m wasted, I need fresh air.